CYCLING PADDINGTON REVIEW & GIVEAWAY

Do you remember Paddington Bear from when you were a child?

That friendly old bear from deepest, darkest Peru with his trademark duffle coat, battered suitcase and marmalade obsession. It’s been nearly 60 years since Michael Bond (who sadly passed away just a couple of months ago) created our iconic furry friend and still, today, he is a beloved national treasure across the country and beyond.

I have the fondest memories of my childhood. In my eyes it was simple, slow living — full of love, laughter, arts/crafts, baking, trips to the park, bubble baths and stories — and I want the same for Lily.

I love passing my old keepsakes down to her and if we’re having a laid back afternoon we’ll scour the charity shops for vintage kid’s clothes and toys that I can remember playing with myself.

Some of my favourite characters are now coming back and being reintroduced so we can enjoy them together. Her, fresh eyes and new to the story. Me, once the child and now the mother, excited to share the joy brought by those things that I adored when I was her age.

Review

With that in mind, Rainbow Designs have manufactured a HUGE collection of Paddington toys including this gem — the Cycling Paddington currently available at Argos.

Cycling Paddington Toy In Box

Yes, that marmalade-scoffing teddy bear is back and ready to make himself comfortable under your Christmas tree this year (I swore I wouldn’t mention the C word but it’s less than 5 months away and I’ve actually starting buying early for once, what is wrong with me?!) Paddington 2 comes out at the cinema on November 10th so he’s bound to be a firm favourite in households this year.

You might’ve seen the TV advert for this beauty? Well, we were lucky enough to receive one to review and for £29.99, you can watch your kiddos chase around Paddington Bear cycling on his bike (yep, he actually cycles!) and playing the catchiest of tunes. He’s 35cm tall and will cycle backwards and forwards for a short while before his tune finishes. He can be restarted again simply by touching or moving him.

Close Up of Cycling Paddington Toy

I’m not one for lots of flashing lights, bells and whistles so I was pleased to see that he wasn’t designed to drive us parents absolutely batty and he’s definitely been a hit with Lily who has enjoyed running away from him in a game of ‘catch me if you can’, gleefully directing him towards the stairs to see if he’ll meet his sticky end (somehow he always seems to flip off the bottom step and land back on his feet, jammy git), wedging her other teddies in front of him and shouting ‘Look he’s taking so-and-so for a ride!’ and scolding him if he doesn’t go the way that she wants him to (it’s randomised).

Isn’t life fun when you’re 2 years old?

Lily Catching Cycling Paddington Toy

I put off trying him out for a week or two as I knew we didn’t have any AA batteries and I kept forgetting to buy them at the shops. When I finally unpacked him (which was easy peasy) I couldn’t find the small screwdriver for hours which turned up after I’d subjected my boyfriend to a flurry of panicked, slightly-blame-y-style texts about its whereabouts to pop open the back and see he comes with the bloody things already! After all that, how rare is it though? Kudos Rainbow Designs, I was expecting another typical ‘batteries not included’ scenario!

Cycling Paddington Toy

So, what did we think of Cycling Paddington?

Pros

— Is super sturdy and child-friendly. Can handle hurtling down a few sets of stairs in short succession and get back on his feet without a hitch.

— Kids (or at least mine, anyway) love anything that moves and plays music. FACT. Lily does the most adorable little dance to Paddington’s tune and we’re usually instructed to join in. It’s kept her happy and generally in a state of amazement and we’ve really enjoyed watching her marvel at him.

— To set him off again your bambino just needs to tap him so it doesn’t need much intervention from you at all.

— They’ve kept the design traditional so Paddington is instantly recognisable with his blue coat and red hat.

— Batteries are included (lifesaver!) All you need to do is switch him on and he’s ready to go!

— Has picked up a Silver Award in the Loved By Parents Awards for the Best Interactive Toy for 3-6 Year Olds.

Cons

— Has started up by himself before without any interaction from us. I’m going to pretend I saw the dog tap him with her paw and tell myself our house isn’t actually haunted.

— Speaking of horror-related things, he initially reminded me of the puppet on the tricycle from the SAW movies but he is so cute and his accompanying tune is so friendly, you’ll soon get over it if you end up feeling the same. I promise, he’s a right little charmer!

Giveaway

Like the look of this gorgeous guy? I’ve teamed up with Rainbow Designs to give you the chance to win your own Cycling Paddington toy!

Terms & Conditions

– The prize offered is a Cycling Paddington toy as shown in the pictures.
– Entries can only be completed through the rafflecopter widget displayed above.
– The PR company will arrange to send the prize directly to the winner upon receipt of their address details.
– This giveaway will end on Sunday 13th August 2017.
– A winner will be chosen at random via the rafflecopter facility.
– The winner will be contacted via email when the giveaway ends and their name announced on my social media accounts shortly afterwards.
– If the winner does not provide their address details within 30 days of announcement and attempts being made to contact them then a new winner will be picked via the same process.
– I am able to offer this prize to UK and Ireland residents only I’m afraid (apologies to any of you who live abroad) and entrants aged 18 or over.


Say hello? Have a question? Get in touch via lucy@hellobeautifulbear.com

In the meantime, you can also find my ramblings/photo diaries/videos over on… Facebook // Instagram // Twitter // Pinterest // YouTube

94 Comments

  1. iain maciver
    August 1, 2017 / 10:55 PM

    perfect for my niece

  2. MARK HOPKINS
    August 2, 2017 / 12:25 AM

    My daughter would love it.

  3. Kevin Honey
    August 2, 2017 / 1:23 AM

    I’d like to win Paddington for my granddaughter

  4. Tracy Nixon
    August 2, 2017 / 5:16 AM

    For my daughter thank you x

  5. Leanne Hansell
    August 2, 2017 / 6:13 AM

    I would love to win the Cycling Paddington for my daughter.

  6. joanna butler-savage
    August 2, 2017 / 7:39 AM

    my friend’s 2 year old

  7. Danielle Pooley
    August 2, 2017 / 7:58 AM

    I would love to win this for my little boy!

  8. Ashleigh Allan
    August 2, 2017 / 8:13 AM

    I would love to win for my nephew

  9. Clare Hubbard
    August 2, 2017 / 8:50 AM

    I’d love to win him for my son, he would think he is brilliant

  10. Katie
    August 2, 2017 / 8:52 AM

    Would love to win for my niece

  11. S Edwards
    August 2, 2017 / 9:29 AM

    for my twin girls to share x

  12. Stevie
    August 2, 2017 / 11:23 AM

    I would like to win for my niece who would love it.

  13. Tony Metcalfe
    August 2, 2017 / 11:51 AM

    My nephew, he’s a big fan of Paddington.

  14. Sue McCarthy
    August 2, 2017 / 2:23 PM

    I don’t have any children but would love to win this prize for charity, to go to Romania.

  15. amy fidler
    August 2, 2017 / 2:34 PM

    Perfect for my Nephew x

  16. Keith Hunt
    August 2, 2017 / 3:05 PM

    Looks nice for a child in my family

  17. Annabel Greaves
    August 2, 2017 / 4:24 PM

    My daughter would love this fab prize

  18. Michelle smith
    August 2, 2017 / 5:42 PM

    My granddaughter would love to win Paddington bear.

  19. Angela treadway
    August 2, 2017 / 6:00 PM

    My youngest son x

  20. laura banks
    August 2, 2017 / 7:23 PM

    my godson

  21. fiona waterworth
    August 2, 2017 / 8:30 PM

    for my grandaughter jasmine temperance

  22. Andrea Fletcher
    August 2, 2017 / 8:44 PM

    I would like to win this for my grandson.

  23. Anthony Harrington
    August 2, 2017 / 9:22 PM

    my little Grandson

  24. Margaret gallagher
    August 2, 2017 / 10:43 PM

    Love for my nephew (or maybe myself!)

  25. Solange
    August 2, 2017 / 10:50 PM

    I would love to win for my daughter.

  26. Angie McDonald
    August 2, 2017 / 10:52 PM

    I’d love to win this for my nephew! His face would light up and he’d play with it for hours!

  27. Sarah Mackay
    August 2, 2017 / 11:39 PM

    I would love to win this for my daughter Morgan.

  28. Hali Kinson
    August 3, 2017 / 8:15 AM

    Fab I’d love to win this for my little boy due in 10 days

  29. Nicola Marshall
    August 3, 2017 / 8:09 PM

    For my daughter, she would love him.

  30. Rachel Craig
    August 4, 2017 / 6:19 PM

    Nephew

  31. amanda walsh
    August 4, 2017 / 6:29 PM

    I would love to win for my little niece, she is obsessed with paddington

  32. stuart hargreaves
    August 5, 2017 / 7:48 PM

    my great niece Rosie she would love Paddington

  33. Fiona King
    August 5, 2017 / 8:23 PM

    My niece. She is a fan

  34. Emma Whitworth
    August 6, 2017 / 12:11 AM

    For my son x

  35. Emma Whittaker
    August 6, 2017 / 12:29 AM

    I would love to win this for my daughter she loves Paddington Bear 🙂

  36. Sidrah Ahmed
    August 6, 2017 / 4:52 AM

    I would love this for my son

  37. August 6, 2017 / 7:13 AM

    Aww Paddington’s so cute! I’d love to win him for my kids, Oscar and Otti 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway x
    Nicola Says recently posted…Beefeater Belgrave ReviewMy Profile

  38. Heather Hibbert
    August 6, 2017 / 12:01 PM

    I’d love this for my stepson

  39. Ruth Harwood
    August 7, 2017 / 12:56 PM

    This would be perfect for my daughter’s birthday xx

  40. Jo Carroll
    August 7, 2017 / 12:57 PM

    I’d love my little lad to keep the story and love of Paddington alive. x

  41. Jennifer stevenson
    August 7, 2017 / 2:27 PM

    I would like to win cycling paddington for my daughter

  42. ADEINNE TONNER
    August 7, 2017 / 3:01 PM

    I would love to win this cycling paddinton for my friends daughter.

  43. Suzanne Jackson
    August 8, 2017 / 12:54 PM

    For my son

  44. Karen Barrett
    August 8, 2017 / 1:36 PM

    I would love to win for my grandchildren, perfect for when they come to visit Grandma.

  45. Kirsty Ward
    August 8, 2017 / 2:38 PM

    My Niece! She would love it!

  46. Edward Guerreiro
    August 9, 2017 / 3:32 AM

    I would like to win it for my niece. I know she would love it.

  47. Sadiyya Maryam
    August 9, 2017 / 4:04 PM

    My daughter absolutely adores Paddogton Bear and for such a long time wore a blue duffel coat like his! She would love this! Many thanks for running this lovely giveaway.

  48. Kirsty Connor
    August 9, 2017 / 7:35 PM

    I would love to win this for my little boy! He loves Paddington Bear!

  49. Linda S
    August 10, 2017 / 5:09 PM

    My sister – she is too old really but she loves him!

  50. Janet Bedford
    August 10, 2017 / 5:46 PM

    Even though I’m 58 I would love this prize as I adore Paddington.

  51. Christine Caple
    August 10, 2017 / 7:07 PM

    I would like to win it for my granddaughter

  52. ann clements
    August 10, 2017 / 7:18 PM

    my great-niece

  53. Susan B
    August 11, 2017 / 6:27 AM

    Gran likes him lots but it would be for our youngest who would love him.

  54. Allison Sherwood
    August 11, 2017 / 8:46 AM

    I would like to win for my granddaughter

  55. Ray Becker
    August 11, 2017 / 9:23 AM

    Our grandson

  56. JULIE WARD
    August 11, 2017 / 1:24 PM

    Youngest grandson, but I think we would all love him

  57. jen jackson
    August 11, 2017 / 7:47 PM

    My daughter

  58. Sarah Wilson
    August 11, 2017 / 8:29 PM

    For my son, he’d love him!

  59. AnnaH
    August 11, 2017 / 8:47 PM

    My youngest daughter would love this!

  60. lynn neal
    August 11, 2017 / 10:34 PM

    My five wonderful grandchildren would love to play with him!

  61. Tracey Belcher
    August 12, 2017 / 6:14 AM

    I would love this for ME – but I guess I would share it with my grandson lol

  62. Arabella Bazley
    August 12, 2017 / 8:02 AM

    I would love to win for my little great niece, I would love to introduce her to the stories of Paddington Bear and we could make up our own stories about cycling Paddington.

  63. amanda greensmith
    August 12, 2017 / 10:40 AM

    my beautiful granddaughter

  64. carol boffey
    August 12, 2017 / 10:53 AM

    my friends little boy

  65. Rebecca Powell
    August 12, 2017 / 12:14 PM

    I would love this for my daughter, she would be so excited to get this

  66. kimberley ryan
    August 12, 2017 / 1:10 PM

    would love to win for my son

  67. nicky pearce
    August 12, 2017 / 2:33 PM

    my nephew

  68. jo liddement
    August 12, 2017 / 4:05 PM

    I would love to win Paddington for my son who loves reading the books.

  69. Jenny Rogers
    August 12, 2017 / 5:23 PM

    This would make a lovely gift for my goddaughter.

  70. Laura Corrall
    August 12, 2017 / 5:29 PM

    For my daughter’s. Although this is possibly targeted more to my youngest my eldest Loves the books and the movie. So I know she would love to borrow him too. Oh and now thanks to the ‘cons’ about Saw now want this to have a laugh with my husband with too!

  71. Laura Jeffs
    August 12, 2017 / 5:31 PM

    Would like to win this for my little girl, as I’m sure she’d love it!

  72. Victoria Prince
    August 12, 2017 / 6:25 PM

    I love to win for my friends little girl, she’d love him 🙂

  73. Sue Bebbington
    August 12, 2017 / 9:18 PM

    My gorgeous new baby grandddaughter

  74. Shannon Williams
    August 13, 2017 / 7:17 AM

    We love Paddington bear he would love to come on Holliday’s and adventures too 🙂

  75. Matthew Warman
    August 13, 2017 / 7:28 AM

    I’d love to win this for my Niece

  76. Kelly Hirst
    August 13, 2017 / 10:01 AM

    I’d love to win the cycling Paddington for my niece

  77. paul jackson
    August 13, 2017 / 10:29 AM

    my granddaughter who will be 2 in October

  78. Rich Tyler
    August 13, 2017 / 11:37 AM

    I’d love to win it for my little boy

  79. Caroline Signey
    August 13, 2017 / 12:02 PM

    My son and daughter

  80. Denise C
    August 13, 2017 / 1:53 PM

    I would love to win for my daughter

  81. Jennifer Baker
    August 13, 2017 / 3:08 PM

    My Daughter Esme xxx

  82. Teresa sheldon
    August 13, 2017 / 3:09 PM

    Perfect prize for my little Ava

  83. Kim Neville
    August 13, 2017 / 4:12 PM

    My son loves Paddington and this looks cool

  84. Theresa Thomas
    August 13, 2017 / 7:32 PM

    I would love to win it for my Son, he loves Paddington but doesn’t have a cycling one

  85. August 13, 2017 / 8:15 PM

    My baby daughter Ava and three year old son Noah. Thanks for the chance 🙂

  86. Nicola Mayor
    August 13, 2017 / 10:04 PM

    For Sophie from her Daddy for being such a good girl

  87. Diane Duggan
    August 13, 2017 / 10:15 PM

    I would give this to my daughter.

  88. Adrian Bold
    August 13, 2017 / 10:43 PM

    I’d love to win for my nephew.

  89. Natalie Crossan
    August 13, 2017 / 11:17 PM

    My daughter Bridie loves paddington xxx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge