CELEBRATING 35 YEARS OF DEAR ZOO // CLASSIC TOYS REVIEW + GIVEAWAY

I remember reading Dear Zoo when I was a little girl so I’m not surprised to learn that Rod Campbell’s treasured classic is celebrating its 35th birthday this year. We picked up a copy for Lily back in February to coincide with her own birthday visit to Chester Zoo (we go every year) and she really enjoys lifting up the flaps and shouting out the names of the animals hiding underneath with the same delight that I did.

Dear Zoo Lily Reading

To celebrate in style, Millie and Flynn have very kindly sent over a couple of toys from their beloved Dear Zoo range for Lily. There’s a wooden cart holding eight character skittles and a ball together with a lift-the-flap puzzle (which obviously mimics the fun design of the original book).

Dear Zoo Classic Toys

Dear Zoo Toys

The skittles set (£22)* is a lovely addition to Lily’s wooden toy collection and she loves popping them in and out before lining them up and knocking them down (whilst giggling uncontrollably!) She also likes to pull it along beside her and take her animals on adventures around our home and garden.

To be totally honest, she’s been inseparable with it since it arrived on Thursday last week. It’s come everywhere with us and her favourite animals are the dog (obviously, I’m practically convinced our little lady thinks she is a dog, she even brings me her nappies and the post in her mouth panting!) and the giraffe!

Dear Zoo Pull Along Cart

Dear Zoo Toys

The cart is super sturdy (I know this because she’s hiked it up over hills and grassy nobbles) and the design and finish of the animals is lovely and of a high quality.

It’s a fabulous interactive toy and she likes to read the book alongside the little wooden figures and match up the animals with the pages of the book that they correspond to.

Dear Zoo Lily Teepee

The puzzle (£7.99)* helps to enhance Lily’s knowledge of the animal kingdom with the words from the book recited on the pieces so we can relive the story and she can learn to associate the qualities with the correct characters. It is bright, colourful and eye-catching so it can hold her attention for a short while whilst we complete it together and make ALL of the animal noises!

It’s also colour-coded so she can match them up to get everything lined up in the right order.

Dear Zoo Puzzle

Dear Zoo Puzzle Lily

All of the toys in Milly & Flynn’s Dear Zoo product range are manufactured from FSC approved wood and are suitable for children aged 12 months +.

Other items include a push-along wooden monkey (£15), a chunky puzzle block (£10), a crate/shape-sorter (£15), a cut-out tray puzzle (£12), a matching pairs memory game (£4.99) and push-along animal crates (£5 each)*

*recommended retail prices.

Giveaway // Win A Dear Zoo Skittles Set (E: 30/7)

Terms & Conditions

– The prize offered is a Dear Zoo Skittles Set (as shown in the pictures).
– Entries can only be completed through the rafflecopter widget displayed above.
– The PR company will arrange to send the prize directly to the winner upon receipt of their address details.
– This giveaway will end on Sunday 30th July 2017.
– A winner will be chosen at random via the rafflecopter facility.
– The winner will be contacted via email when the giveaway ends and their name announced on my social media accounts shortly afterwards.
– If the winner does not provide their address details within 30 days of announcement and attempts being made to contact them then a new winner will be picked via the same process.
– I am able to offer this prize to UK and ROI entrants only I’m afraid (apologies to any of you who live abroad) and entrants aged 18 or over.


Say hello? Have a question? Get in touch via lucy@hellobeautifulbear.com

In the meantime, you can also find my ramblings/photo diaries/videos over on… Facebook // Instagram // Twitter // Pinterest // YouTube

65 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    July 12, 2017 / 4:31 PM

    For my two daughters thank you!

  2. Kim Styles
    July 12, 2017 / 5:19 PM

    It would be for my niece and nephew-they would love it

  3. Andrea Fletcher
    July 12, 2017 / 5:33 PM

    My grandson loves the Dear Zoo book so would love this.

  4. iain maciver
    July 12, 2017 / 5:39 PM

    perfect for my nephew and niece

  5. Katie
    July 12, 2017 / 5:55 PM

    I love this book! Would love to win for my niece and nephew xx

  6. Sue McCarthy
    July 12, 2017 / 6:13 PM

    I don’t have any children but would love to win this prize for charity, to go to Romania.

  7. Jeanette Leighton
    July 12, 2017 / 6:41 PM

    My daughter Sheriah 4 and baby Charlie who is 1 on Friday 14th july

  8. fiona waterworth
    July 12, 2017 / 7:05 PM

    for my grand children jamie and jasmine

  9. Kevin Honey
    July 12, 2017 / 7:10 PM

    I’d like to win this for my granddaughters

  10. Angela Treadway
    July 12, 2017 / 7:16 PM

    my youngest son x

  11. Jodie A Green
    July 12, 2017 / 7:44 PM

    perfect for my daughetrs

  12. karen hill
    July 12, 2017 / 7:51 PM

    I’d love to win for my little boy Rory, thanks for the chance xx

  13. Mairi
    July 12, 2017 / 8:19 PM

    My lovely god daughter

  14. Susan Smith
    July 12, 2017 / 8:48 PM

    Would love to win for my little Granddaughter Lucy

  15. Sarah Mackay
    July 12, 2017 / 10:34 PM

    Would love to win this for my daughter Morgan

  16. Margaret gallagher
    July 12, 2017 / 11:00 PM

    For my neice please

  17. Monica Gilbert
    July 12, 2017 / 11:09 PM

    I’d let my daughter play with it first. Then I’d take it into work for the 2 year old children to try out.

  18. Katie Robertson
    July 13, 2017 / 1:11 AM

    For my eldest daughter

  19. Solange
    July 13, 2017 / 3:10 AM

    My daughter.

  20. Matthew Warman
    July 13, 2017 / 8:13 AM

    My niece Darcie would love this.

  21. July 13, 2017 / 10:53 AM

    I would love to win this fun set for my daughters to share. We have some Dear Zoo books and they love them! xx

  22. MANDY DOHERTY
    July 13, 2017 / 12:01 PM

    I’d love to win this for my granddaughter

  23. Pamela Gossage
    July 13, 2017 / 12:22 PM

    I would love to win it for my youngest grandchild

  24. Gavin Robertson
    July 13, 2017 / 12:24 PM

    My daughter Lily

  25. Chris Bull
    July 13, 2017 / 12:31 PM

    My 2 grandsons would love this, so would we all 🙂 Never too old to play skittles

  26. Becky Yeomans
    July 13, 2017 / 12:33 PM

    For my lovely daughter!

  27. Vic
    July 13, 2017 / 12:43 PM

    My daughter would love this!

  28. Emily Hallett
    July 13, 2017 / 1:17 PM

    I’d like to win it for my cousin’s little girl.

  29. Tasha
    July 13, 2017 / 2:43 PM

    My little girl

  30. Carolyn Heyworth
    July 13, 2017 / 3:10 PM

    My grandson Elijah, he’d love it !

  31. stuart hargreaves
    July 13, 2017 / 3:15 PM

    MY YOUNG NEPHEW – IDEAL PRESENT

  32. jen jackson
    July 13, 2017 / 4:39 PM

    My daughter would love to play with this

  33. Karen Barrett
    July 13, 2017 / 7:13 PM

    Perfect for all my Grandchildren 🙂

  34. Christine Lockley
    July 13, 2017 / 8:02 PM

    This looks lovely and a great accompaniment to the book (which I loved reading with my son) and would love to win for my youngest grandson

  35. Vicki D
    July 13, 2017 / 8:23 PM

    My niece would adore this…..she loves animals. All she talks about is wildlife.

  36. Jane
    July 13, 2017 / 9:03 PM

    My 18 month old boy would love this. We have the book and he loves to make me and daddy read it over and over!

  37. Lynn Heath
    July 13, 2017 / 9:30 PM

    My nephew would have hours of fun with this!

  38. Kim Draper
    July 13, 2017 / 10:43 PM

    Would love this for my Godson.

  39. Sidrah Ahmed
    July 14, 2017 / 12:34 AM

    I would love this for my daughter

  40. Heather Hibbert
    July 14, 2017 / 9:41 AM

    For my stepson

  41. Lindsey Martin
    July 14, 2017 / 9:56 AM

    My little girl would love this, she reads the book over and over again! And now summer is here this looks like a lovely little follow on toy.

  42. jo liddement
    July 14, 2017 / 4:11 PM

    I would love to win the Dear Zoo Skittles Set for my granddaughter Freyja

  43. Clare Hubbard
    July 15, 2017 / 5:17 PM

    These would be perfect for my son

  44. Spencer Broadley
    July 16, 2017 / 10:09 AM

    I think my young niece would love it best 🙂

  45. Hali Kinson
    July 16, 2017 / 8:57 PM

    Would love to win this for my son

  46. Jo Carroll
    July 17, 2017 / 1:00 PM

    I think my little lad and his cousin would get hours and hours of fun playing with these. x

  47. Kirsty Ward
    July 17, 2017 / 2:46 PM

    Id love this for my Niece!

  48. Lisa Wilkinson
    July 17, 2017 / 9:17 PM

    My little girl

  49. Lesley White
    July 17, 2017 / 9:40 PM

    Would either be for my son or I have plenty of nephews with birthdays coming up

  50. Arabella Bazley
    July 18, 2017 / 6:47 AM

    My nephew and his fabulous wife have a beautiful little girl who I would love to give this to. Wooden toys have so much more longevity and this looks like a great item for for first play.

  51. EJ Dunn
    July 18, 2017 / 3:25 PM

    My little girl, Amaya.

  52. Emma
    July 18, 2017 / 8:13 PM

    Both my daughters love Dear Zoo but I guess my youngest is more in the target age for it! The set looks great, hours of fun to be had! X

  53. Kerry Taylor
    July 18, 2017 / 8:20 PM

    I’d love to win for my little boy. We love Dear Zoo.

  54. Ruth Harwood
    July 19, 2017 / 10:19 AM

    My daughter would love these!!

  55. Stevie
    July 19, 2017 / 11:53 AM

    I would like to win for my nephew when he’s a little older.

  56. amy bondoc
    July 19, 2017 / 1:14 PM

    such a lovely set id love to win for my neices lola and ruby

  57. Rich Tyler
    July 19, 2017 / 3:46 PM

    My little boy, he’d love this

  58. Louise King
    July 19, 2017 / 8:51 PM

    My gorgeous Daughter Sadie

  59. Nigel Rummey
    July 20, 2017 / 12:45 PM

    My niece

  60. Sakky Hill
    July 20, 2017 / 6:36 PM

    I’d love to win them for my adorable nephew, Benjamin. 🙂

  61. Rebecca
    July 21, 2017 / 3:49 PM

    For our wee one!

  62. Susan B
    July 21, 2017 / 6:54 PM

    The youngest little person in our family would love it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge