REVIEW + GIVEAWAY // ENCOURAGING A LOVE FOR NATURE WITH SRI TOYS

I’ve always had an affinity with the natural world and adore things like biology, the changing seasons, weather cycles and ecology. Instinctively, I tend to choose toys and playthings for Lily that encompass these elements and if you’ve heard of SRI Toys or shopped with them before, no doubt you’ll see that they’re my cup of tea with a heavy focus on animals, nature and life cycles.

Lily sat on the table playing with her seasons shape sorter from SRI Toys

I’m not overly strict with my purchases but, if I can, I like to choose items that are kind to the environment and eco-friendly. SRI Toys tick all of the right boxes by hand-making their toys from locally-sourced and sustainable natural rubber wood. The toys are made by skilled craftsmen under fair employment standards and the company say that ‘not only are they biodegradable, but built to last for generations’. They are safe and non-toxic, just perfect for little hands!

Introducing the Four Seasons Shape Sorter from SRI Toys

Close-up photo of the wooden shape sorter from SRI Toys

Close up of the seasonal shapes from the wooden sorter from SRI Toys

SRI Toys kindly offered us the chance to review one of their wooden toys and I chose the four seasons shape sorter for Lily. It costs £24.99 which I think is an absolute steal to be honest with you!

She hasn’t used a shape sorter for ages but I thought this would be more challenging for her as the shapes aren’t your usual stars, squares and circles but more complex shapes, each corresponding with one of the four seasons.

Lily happily playing with her seasons shape sorter from SRI Toys

Lily getting frustrated with her seasons shape sorter from SRI Toys

She’s got the hang of it now, but as you can see, the first time she got her hands on it she went from angelic little darling to devilish pixie in the space of about two seconds when one of the shapes wouldn’t go through the hole she wanted it to! Look at that, ALL of the rage, we’ve all been there bless her!

Lily inserting her shapes in to her all seasons shape sorter from SRI Toys

Close up of Lily playing with her seasons shape sorter from SRI Toys

Lily smiling with her seasons shape sorter from SRI Toys

This is easily one of the nicest toys we’ve ever played with. It’s beautifully-crafted of thick, sturdy wood and I can already tell that it’s going to be around for a LONG time and passed down to her brothers and sisters (should we be so lucky!)

The only point I would mention is that the bottom of the shape-sorter fills up quickly and so you do have to shuffle the box as you carry on playing so that you can push the rest of the shapes through but there’s no way around that really, it’s just one of those things isn’t it?

If you’d like the chance to win one of these gorgeous four seasons shape sorters for the kiddos in your life, SRI Toys have kindly offered to give a set away to one of my readers! Hurrah! Please place your entries below and I’m wishing you lots of luck!

Win your own Four Seasons Shape Sorter from SRI Toys!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms & Conditions

– The prize offered is a wooden four seasons shape sorter from SRI Toys UK as shown in the pictures.
– Entries can only be completed through the rafflecopter widget displayed above.
– SRI Toys UK will arrange to send the prize directly to the winner upon receipt of their address details.
– This giveaway will end at midnight on Sunday 1st October 2017.
– A winner will be chosen at random via the rafflecopter facility.
– The winner will be contacted via email when the giveaway ends and their name announced on my social media accounts shortly afterwards.
– If the winner does not provide their address details within 30 days of announcement and attempts being made to contact them then a new winner will be picked via the same process.
– I am able to offer this prize to UK and Ireland residents only I’m afraid (apologies to any of you who live abroad) and entrants aged 18 or over.

57 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    September 15, 2017 / 2:54 PM

    I love the Autumn as I love the darker evenings, the colours of the leaves, Halloween, Bonfire night and preparing for Christmas!

  2. Sue McCarthy
    September 15, 2017 / 4:04 PM

    Spring – the birds start singing, the plants start growing and hopefully the weather starts to improve!

  3. Margaret Gallagher
    September 15, 2017 / 4:51 PM

    Spring everything starts to weaken up after the long winter love the colours that evolve

  4. fiona waterworth
    September 15, 2017 / 6:21 PM

    I love spring with all the flowers just starting to push through the soil and trees with their buds on

  5. Sheila Evans
    September 16, 2017 / 12:39 AM

    I love them all – but Spring is especially lovely, with renewed life, lambs, daffodils, babies everywhere!

  6. Jo McPherson
    September 16, 2017 / 7:17 AM

    I love Autumn, cosy evenings and clothes, and the excitement of Christmastime to look forward to

  7. sarah m
    September 16, 2017 / 11:30 AM

    My favourite season is Autumn because I love the colours 🙂

  8. Andrea Fletcher
    September 16, 2017 / 6:30 PM

    My favourite is Summer when I can sit out in the garden.

  9. Angela Treadway
    September 16, 2017 / 8:40 PM

    Summer because the days are longer x

  10. Helen Stratton
    September 16, 2017 / 9:16 PM

    Autumn has always been my favourite. Mostly dry days that are just the right warmth to still not need a coat. Beautiful colours everywhere and it’s the season of my birthday 🙂

  11. Tasha
    September 16, 2017 / 9:17 PM

    I love autumn it’s so cosy and beautiful

  12. Solange
    September 16, 2017 / 9:17 PM

    Autumn because of the leaves turning, the weather cooling, the autumn festivals, being able to layer my clothes, Halloween, hot chocolate and pumpkin flavoured everything.

  13. Sadiyya Maryam
    September 17, 2017 / 9:25 AM

    Autumn, I love the changing colours of the leaves and hot chocolate, warm soups with the family.

  14. Kim Neville
    September 17, 2017 / 10:46 AM

    Summer as I like the sunny weather and having fun days out

  15. jo liddement
    September 17, 2017 / 3:23 PM

    I love the Autumn because this season is still mainly warm and the leaves are turning the russets colours and the beaches are quieter this time of year where i live in Cornwall.

  16. Roxanne
    September 17, 2017 / 5:44 PM

    Autumn for the colours

  17. Isabel O
    September 17, 2017 / 7:28 PM

    Definitely summer- long hot bright days, flowers, butterflies.

  18. Laura Pritchard
    September 17, 2017 / 8:22 PM

    I love Summer as I hate feeling wet or cold, and love the long light evenings!

  19. Jo Bryan
    September 18, 2017 / 1:14 AM

    I love spring, its a season of hope after winter, new babies being born in nature, chicks, lambs, tadpoles. Flowers start to bloom and blossom on trees! Love the feeling of longer daylight hours and summer is nearly here.

  20. MANDY DOHERTY
    September 18, 2017 / 9:15 AM

    I love Spring and seeing everything coming back to life after winter

  21. Sally Collingwood
    September 18, 2017 / 9:05 PM

    I love the spring when all the bulbs and flowers start shooting up. Love watching flowers growing from seeds.

  22. Francesca Jones
    September 19, 2017 / 2:52 PM

    I love winter when the snow falls and everything glistens.

  23. Alica
    September 19, 2017 / 3:14 PM

    I love summer when we get it! I like to be outdoors in the sunshine whenever I can 🙂

  24. Rachel Butterworth
    September 22, 2017 / 12:29 PM

    Autumn because of all the beautiful colours.

  25. Kirsteen Mackay
    September 22, 2017 / 12:29 PM

    Spring is my favourite because I love when the air warms up and people start smiling again and the long summer holidays are in sight.

  26. Maureen M
    September 22, 2017 / 8:45 PM

    Spring – a time to look forward,enjoying the trees &flowers as they come back to life.

  27. maria blythin
    September 23, 2017 / 9:07 PM

    winter for the frost, snow and christmas x

  28. caroline kelly
    September 25, 2017 / 3:30 PM

    Autumn, love the colours and foods

  29. Debi Newman
    September 27, 2017 / 9:31 AM

    I love Autumn because of all the lovely colours x

  30. Susan B
    September 27, 2017 / 12:48 PM

    Summer is my favourite season as everything is so bright and cheerful.

  31. Alex Brownlee
    September 27, 2017 / 9:47 PM

    i love summer because it is warm

  32. Pam Smith
    September 28, 2017 / 4:54 PM

    I love summer as we can get outside more

  33. Allan Fullarton
    September 28, 2017 / 5:26 PM

    Love the summer warmth. 🙁

  34. Stevie Fairbairn
    September 29, 2017 / 5:28 PM

    I like spring when we can all get out and have some fun.

  35. September 29, 2017 / 9:51 PM

    I love summer because I love hot sunshine

  36. Zoey P
    September 30, 2017 / 7:00 AM

    I love summer as love to explore and have decent weather to enjoy days to the max

  37. Keith Hunt
    September 30, 2017 / 9:35 PM

    Winter as we stay in a log cabin

  38. September 30, 2017 / 11:43 PM

    Summer! The weather, the sun, the lighter days and nights!

  39. Hayley Colburn
    October 1, 2017 / 12:42 AM

    Definitely Summer, I just love being outside, but I hate being cold

  40. Laura Lee
    October 1, 2017 / 6:37 AM

    I love summer as i love the heat and the long days but i do love thr change to autumn its so pretty to watch

  41. Jade Hewlett
    October 1, 2017 / 9:35 AM

    Winter as I like to hope it’s going to snow (rarely does!)

  42. stephanie anne Campbell
    October 1, 2017 / 1:14 PM

    spring! i like that fresh feeling it gives you after the cold winter… i like the colours and the changes you see everywhere. cherry blossom is pretty and it tends to be drier than summer these days too :’D

  43. Victoria Thurgood
    October 1, 2017 / 1:16 PM

    I like spring love the warmer days but not to hot

  44. natalee gosiewski
    October 1, 2017 / 1:21 PM

    summer i love the heat bbqs picnic i enjoy doing things out doors with kids its light longer and it always makes me feel happy

  45. EJ Dunn
    October 1, 2017 / 1:22 PM

    I love autumn because of the slight chill in the air and the beautiful colours in nature.

  46. JULIE WARD
    October 1, 2017 / 1:50 PM

    Summer, going on outing with grandchildren and hopefully not getting wet through

  47. nicky pearce
    October 1, 2017 / 4:09 PM

    spring when the daffs start to come out

  48. jackie curran
    October 1, 2017 / 4:45 PM

    I like winter , I love the cold crispy days and hope for snow.

  49. Pauline Dring
    October 1, 2017 / 4:54 PM

    Spring, because there are lots of warm months ahead and it’s lighter in the evenings

  50. October 1, 2017 / 7:07 PM

    I love Spring the most, the shoots of new life, the lighter mornings & evenings & the thought of warmer days to come

  51. Katrina Adams
    October 1, 2017 / 7:11 PM

    Autumn, I love the weather starting to turn and the nights drawing in. I love the excuse to wrap up all snuggly and get cozy by the fire with a good book. I love the changing colour of the leaves and smell in the air. It’s just such a pretty season.

  52. Jayne T
    October 1, 2017 / 7:30 PM

    I love Autumn , because I like the cooler weather and the feel of Christmas in the air.

  53. Adrian Bold
    October 1, 2017 / 7:53 PM

    I love Summer the most. Nicer weather, holidays, longer days and BBQs!

  54. Natalie Crossan
    October 1, 2017 / 8:41 PM

    Summer because it’s hot xx

  55. October 1, 2017 / 9:00 PM

    I love Autumn, natures lovely colours, clean crisp air and snuggles on the sofa watching good tv

Leave a Reply